ताजा खबर

CPP demands special Assembly on framework

IMPHAL: Committee of Political Parties (CPP), a platform of opposition political parties in Manipur Tuesday pressed the state government to convene special session of the state Assembly to discuss the Naga Framework Agreement on or before September 15.

The special session should also discuss burning issues like Manipur University crisis, border pillar issue etc, convener RK Anand of the CPP demanded.

A decision in this regard was taken at a meeting of the CPP held in Imphal on Sunday, the convener told reporters during a news conference at Imphal Congress Bhavan. 

The meeting also resolved to hold a state level convention on burning issues before the people of the state on September 22, he added.

State Congress leader Anand alleged the BJP-led NDA government at the Centre had signed the Framework Agreement with NSCN (I-M) ignoring the legitimate stakeholders.

He reminded that it was during BJP-led NDA government at the Centre that put Manipur on fire by inserting the phrase “without territorial limits” in the ceasefire agreement signed between the Centre and the NSCN (I-M). 

“The framework agreement was signed with the NSCN (I-M) on August 3, 2015, but its contents are still concealed. Manipur’s merger into the Indian Union did not mean that it should lead to disintegration of the ancient nation,” he said.

The details of the agreement are also still not disclosed. This showed that there are hidden agendas behind the agreement, he alleged.

“This is the biggest deceive by the government at the Centre in the history of Indian democracy,” he alleged.

The Centre claimed that there was no infringement in the interest of the three neighbouring states but the parliamentary committee has hinted giving special status to the Nagas living in the neighbouring states of Nagaland. “This is the biggest political betrayal of these states,” he said.

CPP, a common platform of 11 opposition political parties, was recently formed to take on the ruling BJP-led coalition government in the state. Congress, CPM, CPI, North East India Development Party (NEIDP), Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Janata Dal Secular, All India Trinamool Congress, All India Forward Bloc (AIFB), Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) were the constituents of the CPP.

कोई टिप्पणी नहीं