ताजा खबर

All set for counting amidst tight security and traffic measures

IMPHAL  (DIPR): Shri Naorem Praveen Singh, District Election Officer, Imphal West and RO-1, Inner Manipur Parliamentary Constituency today said that all the necessary arrangements are ready for the election counting on 23rd May, 2019 for the results of the 17th Lok Sabha Election, 2019 as per the guidelines of the Election Commission of India. DEO Imphal West informed that a video conference with ECI officials in presence of CEO Manipur was held today following smooth and successful dry run of the counting. 

Speaking to the media persons at Imphal West DC Complex at Lamphelpat, he said that 8 counting centers will be installed out of which 7 are for EVMs and 1 for the normal postal ballot and Electronically Transmitted Postal Ballot System (ETPBS). EVMs will be counted after the completion of the postal ballots and ETPBS. Election Observers will report on duty at 5 am on the day of the counting, he added.

He further said that there will be two stages for the counting of postal ballots, first the bar code in the postal ballots will be checked after verification the counting process will begin. The counting will be held in presence of Election Observer and ROs and each counting tables will be supervised by the EROs. He said that this time there will be 10-14 numbers of tables installed for counting EVMs and 5-3 number of rounds will be held.

To maintain transparency in the counting process, the passage from the strong room to the counting halls will be video recorded with installation of CCTV cameras. The counting process will be displayed in TV monitors installed inside the DEO Imphal West office complex, he said. 

DEO Imphal West appealed to the media persons to take videography mainly the long shots of the counting process on 23rd May, 2019. He further said that internet connections will be provided to the media persons covering the counting. All India trend of the counting will be shown in the TV monitors. 

Shri K. Meghachandra Singh, SP, Imphal West said that over 500 personnel each in three shifts of the Manipur Police are already deployed round the clock. Besides 3 companies of Central Paramilitary Forces, 2 teams of Anti Terrorists Squad with 15 persons each including women personnel and Striking Reserve are deployed for tackling law and order situations and to provide security till the day of the counting at the DEO Imphal West Office complex which is divided in three security zones/layers.

Apart from the strategic locations identified earlier, he informed that 18 additional locations have been identified where security forces will be deployed from tonight till the midnight of the 23rd May, 2019. He said that arms and ammunitions, sharp weapons, inflammable items like matches and intoxicants, mobile phones are strictly prohibited inside the office complex. He appealed to the supporters and agents of the winning candidate to refrain from using loudspeakers and provoking other supporters and agents. He said using unauthorized way of taking out victory procession will attract legal action.

Smt Kh. Sarma, SP Traffic, Imphal West said that persons carrying ECI issued Authority Letter will be allowed to park their vehicles at the identified 10 cut off points and those unauthorized vehicles parked apart from the identified locations will be towed away by using crane. They will be penalized as per law, she added.
There will be traffic diversion, vehicles coming from Khwai Bazar side will be diverted towards RIMS and Khamlangba Bridge via village lane from Canteen Leirak crossing except the vehicles of candidates, election agents, counting agents and vehicles having car pass. On the other hand, vehicles from Khamlangba Bridge side will be diverted towards Khwai Bazar side except the vehicles of the candidates, election agents, counting agents and vehicles having car pass. Vehicles coming from Tera Bazar and Takyel side towards Noremthong New/Old Bridge will be not be allowed to ply towards Uripok-Kangchup Road except the vehicles of candidates, election agents, counting agents and vehicles having car pass, she said. (DIPR)

कोई टिप्पणी नहीं