ताजा खबर

Sekmai - A perfect example of multi-community, multi-lingual and secular constituency: RO Padmapati

16-Sekmai (SC) Assembly Constituency, with a sizeable population of Scheduled Caste, Scheduled Tribes and Nepalis, is a perfect example of multi-community, multi-lingual and secular constituency, said RO Salam Padmapati.

Highlighting the people’s firm belief in collective development of the constituency, she appealed to the elders and the youth, brothers and sisters of the constituency to promote a free and fair election in the constituency. “We are a secular, democracy loving civilized society and believe in non-violence,” she said adding that “No external and undesired force can shake us in exercising our voting rights and in choosing the right representative for the constituency.”

The RO further said people of the constituency, known for their hospitality and indomitable spirit, firmly believe in the collective progress of the constituency. 

Sekmai (SC) AC has 41 Polling Stations, divided into five sectors. There are 29,971 electors including 14,772 male, 15,195 female and four transgender electors in the constituency. Electors of the constituency also include 7 voters above 100 years of age and 378 above 80 years. Sekmai AC also has 292 PwD electors. Altogether 136 Postal Ballots (12D) for Absentee Voters have been found eligible.

16/4 Kanglatongbi with 1,233 electors has the highest number of electors and 16/25-Loitang Leikinthabi with 345 electors the lowest. Two Polling Stations at Phayeng Awang Leikai – 16/29 and 16/30 have been identified as Model cum Women Polling Stations.

RO Padmapati said her constituency, which has the youngest and poorest candidate, also has 8 candidates in the fray, which is the highest in the district.

The candidates are BJP candidate and sitting MLA Heikham Dingo Singh, NPP candidate Ayangbam Oken Singh, Independent candidate Khwairakpam Robin Singh, Shiv Sena candidate Khaidem Ranjit Singh, Independent candidate Maharabam Anita Devi, INC candidate Ningthoujam Biren Singh, NCP candidate Ningthoujam Popilal Singh and JD(U) candidate Khwairakpam Devendro Singh.

The first Member of Legislative Assembly from Sekmai AC, Khwairakpam Chaoba defeated Indian National Congress candidate Khangembam Leirijao three times in a row in the 1972, 1974 and 1980 elections. Chaoba contested the 1972 and 1974 elections as Manipur Peoples’ Party candidate and as a Janata Party candidate in the 1980 election.

In the 1984 State Assembly election, INC candidate Khangembam Leirijao, in his fourth attempt as INC candidate defeated his nemesis Khwairakpam Chaoba, who contested the election as MPP candidate.

INC candidate Ningthoujam Biren defeated MPP’s seasoned politician Chaoba in both the 1990 and 1995 elections; however, in the 7th State Legislative Assembly election, 2000, Biren, who contested as the MSCP candidate, lost to BJP candidate Khwairakpam Chandra.

In 2002, Ningthoujam Biren contested as the Federal Party of Manipur candidate and defeated the then sitting MLA Khwairakpam Chandra, who was contesting the election on a Nationalist Congress Party ticket.

Sitting MLA Ningthoujam Biren, who contested as INC candidate in the 2007 election, was defeated by CPI’s Dr.Heikham Borajao.

In the 10th State Assembly election, 2012, INC candidate Khwairakpam Devendro Singh defeated All India Trinamool Congress’ candidate Heikham Dingo Singh. In the next election in 2017, Dingo contested as the BJP candidate and reversed the previous election’s result defeating INC’s Devendro.

कोई टिप्पणी नहीं